top of page

About The Firewalkers

The Firewalkers is a hot new R&B/Soul band from Detroit, Michigan specializing in the pre-Motown sounds of the late Fifties and early Sixties. Comprised of some of the city's finest musicians and fronted by the fiery vocals of singer Laura Mendoza, (White Shag, The Ricky Rat Pack, Mark Farner’s American Band) featuring David James (Jon Rice Band, David James) on guitar, Rudy Varner (Jack Scott, Chris Casello Trio, JC and the Royal Keys) on upright bass, Loney Charles (Jack Scott, Chris Casello Trio, JC and the Royal Keys) on drums and Johnny Evans (Howling Diablos) on Sax.

In 2017, during a residency at Otus Supply where Rudy and Loney were playing with JC and the Royal Keys, Laura was invited to sit in as a guest singer for one of the dates. That day the band started off with the unmistakable classic “Hound Dog” by Big Mama Thornton and the audience was blown away. Afterward, the three decided to start their own band and made their debut performance at the annual Erotic Poetry & Music Festival in 2019 to a rapturous crowd.

About: About

Band Members


Laura Mendoza

Lead Singer


Rudy Varner



Loney Charles



David James



Johnny Evans


About: Band Members
bottom of page